

Annex 8

Decision Document on

Handover of the CTI-CFF COM Chairmanship

The 12th CTI-CFF SENIOR OFFICIALS' MEETING (SOM-12)

1 - 2 November 2016 Laguna Hotel, Waigani Drive Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea

Adopted on 1 November 2016 by the Governments of Indonesia, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea, the Philippines, Solomon Islands, and Timor-Leste

I. Background

At the 11th CTI-CFF Senior Officials' Meeting (SOM-11) held on 2-3 December 2015 in Manado, Indonesia, the meeting acknowledged and appreciated Papua New Guinea as the current Chair and the Philippines as the vice-Chair of the Committee of Senior Officials (CSO) and Council of Ministers (COM) for the period of two years from 16 May 2014 to 16 May 2016 or such time when the Ministerial Meeting will be held after May 2016.

The meeting also acknowledged that there will be a handover of the Chairmanship and Vice-Chairmanship of the CTI-COM and CTI-CSO from Papua New Guinea and the Philippines, to the Philippines and Solomon Islands in 2016, respectively. In addition, the meeting agreed that the date and venue for SOM-12 will be held back-to-back with the 6th Ministerial Meeting (MM-6) in Papua New Guinea in 2016.

As it was circulated, the Government of Papua New Guinea, as the current Chair of CTI-COM and CTI-CSO, confirmed that they will host the SOM-12 and the MM-6 on 1-2 November 2016 and 3 November 2016, respectively. Both meeting to be preceded by the Pre-SOM on 31 October 2016.

in accordance with the provisions stipulated in the Rule 10 (1) of CTI-CFF Rules of Procedure, which reads as follows:

"...The CTI-CFF Party whose name next follows alphabetically from the CTI-CFF Party of the current Chair will nominate a candidate for election as Chair..."

Following that statement, the Rule 10 (2) of CTI-CFF Rules of Procedure, reads as follows:

"...The CTI-CFF Party whose name next follows alphabetically from the CTI-CFF Party of the current Vice-Chair will nominate a candidate for election as Vice-Chair..."

In line with the abovementioned rules, the Philippines and Solomon Islands shall assume the Chairmanship and Vice-Chairmanship, respectively of the CTI Council of Ministers on 16 May 2016 or such time when the Ministerial Meeting will be held after May 2016.

This is also in accordance with Rule 11 (1) & (2), of the CTI-CFF Rules of Procedure:

- 1) The Chair of the CSO shall rotate in time and by CTI-CFF Party, parallel to the CTI COM. The Vice Chair will be parallel with Rule 10 (2). They shall take office upon their appointment for the same term as the CTI COM Chair.
- 2) The rotation of the Chair of the CTI CSO referred to in paragraph (1) above shall be based on the names of the CTI-CFF Parties in alphabetical order. As such, the CTI-CFF Party whose name next follows alphabetically from the CTI-CFF Party of the current Chair will nominate a candidate for election as Chair, at the meeting immediately prior to the conclusion of the term of office of the current Chair. The initial Chair of the CTI CSO will be nominated by the CTI-CFF Party of the initial Chair of the CTI COM.

II. Decision

Referring to the discussion and consideration among the SOM-12 on session on Handover of the CTI-CFF COM Chairmanship, the Senior Officials hereby:

- 1. Acknowledged and appreciated the contributions and leadership of current Chair of CTI-COM; and
- 2. Endorsed Philippines and Solomon Islands as the new Chair and Vice-Chair of the CTI-COM and CTI-CSO for the next two (2) years.

Attachment:

8.1 Presentation on Handover of CTI-CFF COM Chairmanship